The SCMP Designation Program is suitable for those seeking to launch or accelerate their career in supply chain and who work or intend to work at a management or executive level.

In order to earn the SCMP Designation, you must be admitted to the program, be an SCMA Alberta member, and successfully complete all of the elements below.

A total overall program grade of 60% is required to successfully complete the program and be awarded the SCMP designation.

8 Modules

13-week or 7-week sessions

Online or in-class

Cover the core areas of strategic supply chain management knowledge

Must achieve at least 50% on each module.  Grade is based on submission of a module culminating assignment (MCA) or case analysis and group/individual participation.  The modules combined comprise 30% of the overall program grade.

  • Supply Chain Management
  • Procurement and Supply Management
  • Logistics and Transportation
  • Operations and Process Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Global Sourcing
  • Supply Chain Management for the Public Sector
  • Supply Chain Management for Services, Capital Goods and Major Projects

6 Interactive Workshops

2-4 day sessions


Address high-level business skills

*Must achieve at least 50% on each interactive workshop.  Grade is based on submission of session work, a case analysis or project assignment and group/individual participation.  The interactive workshops comprise 15% of the overall program grade.
  • Leadership and Professionalism
  • Negotiation Skills
  • Communication and Relational Skills
  • Competitive Bidding, Contract Preparation and Contract Management
  • Risk Management
  • Ethical Behaviour and Social Responsibility

In-Residence Week

* Must achieve at least 50% to pass.  Grade is based on a case study presentation and individual participation/attendance for the full program.  In-Residence Week comprises 10% of the overall program grade.

Integrates and advances knowledge gained during Modules and Interactive Workshops, and hones management and leadership skills; also provides Final Exam preparation

Final Examination

* Must achieve 50% to pass.  The format of the final examination is a full case analysis, which demonstrates leadership competencies gained through the program.  The Final Examination comprises 45% of the overall program grade.

Tests knowledge acquired throughout the program and practical experience in a cased-based Exam
Progressive Practical Experience Requirement A minimum of three years of progressive experience in any aspect of supply chain management
View Breakdown of Courses & Fees (PDF, 207 KB)

Consult the SCMP Education Handbook (PDF, 1.06 MB) for any information regarding SCMP designation program.

If you have any specific questions regarding the SCMP Program, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Accreditation & Training Coordinator or (604) 540-4494 x 103.

Click Here for Admissions and other forms.